Object Image

18 plates, each decorated with a Netherlandish province

These plates reflect the period when the Netherlands and Belgium together formed the United Kingdom of the Netherlands (1815-1830). The kingdom consisted of 17 provinces plus the grand duchy of Luxembourg. The gold decoration is in the Neoclassical style. On the upper edge are the arms of the kingdom, on the lower border those of each province. Today the Netherlands consists of 12 provinces. ...
Read more
Image and text courtesy of Rijksmuseum, 2019

Where you'll find this

Permanent collection